Miss Read Novels in Order, by Series

Miss Read Novels in Order

One of my favourite authors remains Miss Read. I have very many happy memories of afternoons spent in the Readers Rest in Lincoln, overjoyed to spot the orange spines and delightful stories within a Miss Read Novel. Her two most popular series are the Fairacre books, featuring Miss Read and the indomitable Mrs Pringle and Thrush Green novels with Mrs Curdle. I've listed them here as well as the other stand alone novels.

Fairacre Series

  1. Village School
  2. Village Diary
  3. Storm in the Village
  4. Miss Clare Remembers
  5. Over the Gate
  6. Village Christmas
  7. Fairacre Festival
  8. Emily Davis
  9. The Christmas Mouse
  10. Tyler's Row
  11. Farther Afield
  12. No Holly for Miss Quinn
  13. Village Affairs
  14. The White Robin
  15. Village Centenary
  16. Summer at Fairacre
  17. Mrs Pringle of Fairacre
  18. Changes at Fairacre
  19. Fairwell to Fairacre
  20. A Peaceful Retirement

Thrush Green Series

  1. Thrush Green
  2. Winter in Thrush Green
  3. News from Thrush Green
  4. Battles at Thrush Green
  5. Return to Thrush Green
  6. Gossip from Thrush Green
  7. Affairs at Thrush Green
  8. At Home in Thrush Green
  9. The School at Thrush Green
  10. Friends at Thrush Green
  11. Celebrations at Thrush Green
  12. The Year at Thrush Green
  13. Christmas at Thrush Green

Caxley Chronicles Series

  1. The Market Square
  2. The Howards of Caxley

Stand-Alone Novels

  • Fresh from the Country
  • Tales from a Village School

Children's Books

  • Hobby Horse Cottage
  • The Little Red Bus
  • The New Bed
  • No Hat!
  • Plum Pie
  • Hob and the Horse Bat
  • Cluck, The Little Black Hen
  • The Little Peg Doll
  • Tiggy
  • Animal Boy

Non-Fiction Books

  • The World of Thrush Green
  • Miss Read's Country Cooking, Or to cut a Cabbage Leaf
  • Fortunate Grandchild
  • Time Remembered
  • The English Vicarage Garden
  • Early Days
  • Mrs Griffin Sends her Love and other Writing