Cover Detail of Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen Novels in Order

I was lucky enough to have a great English Literature teacher at secondary school, who brought to life every classic book that we read. Small and Scottish, Mrs Pearce was a force of nature, but held a class of thirty teenagers transfixed as she explained the subtleties and biting wit of Pride and Prejudice. I loved this book and equally adored the BBC TV Series of the early 1990s with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth taking the lead roles. Below is a list of the novels written by Jane Austen in order of publication. These can all be read as standalone novels.

Novels in Order of Publication

  • Sense and Sensibility (1811)
  • Pride and Prejudice (1813)
  • Mansfield Park (1814)
  • Emma (1815)
  • Northanger Abbey (1818 posthumous)
  • Persuasion (1818 posthumous)
  • Lady Susan (1871 posthumous)

Unfinished Novels

  • The Watsons (1804)
  • Sanditon (1817)