Cover Detail of The Lantern Men by Elly Griffiths

Elly Griffiths Books in Order

I first discovered the novels of Elly Griffiths whilst visiting the lovely Lindum Books in Lincoln's Bailgate. They had just had a signing with the author and my interest was certainly piqued when I read the back of Crossing Places. Once I had read this, I couldn't wait to read the others and was delighted to receive one Christmas a boxed set of her books. I've split the list below into Dr Ruth Galloway and Brighton Mysteries books. I would strongly recommend reading the Dr Ruth books in order of publication. There is so much background to Dr Ruth's life, and it becomes quite tangled at times!

Dr Ruth Galloway Books in Order

  1. The Crossing Places (2009)
  2. The Janus Stone (2010)
  3. The House at Sea's End (2011)
  4. A Room Full of Bones (2011)
  5. Ruth's First Christmas Tree (2012)
  6. A Dying Fall/Tomb of the Raven King (2012)
  7. The Outcast Dead (2014)
  8. The Ghost Fields (2015)
  9. The Woman in Blue (2016)
  10. The Chalk Pit (2017)
  11. The Dark Angel (2018)
  12. The Stone Circle (2019)
  13. The Lantern Men (2020)
  14. The Night Hawks (2021)

The Brighton Mysteries

  1. The Zig Zag Girl (2014)
  2. Smoke and Mirrors (2015)
  3. The Blood Card (2016)
  4. The Vanishing Box (2017)
  5. Now You See Them (2019)

Harbinder Kaur Books

  1. The Stranger Diaries (2018)
  2. The Postscript Murders (2021)

Justice Jones Books

  1. A Girl Called Justice (2019)
  2. The Smugglers' Secret (2020)

Standalone Novels

  • The Italian Quarter (2004)
  • The Eternal City (2005)
  • Villa Serena (2007)
  • Summer School (2008)