Photo Detail of A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens showing Ebeneezer Scrooge meeting the Ghost of Christmas Present

Charles Dickens Novels in Publication Order

For many of us, one of the first classic authors that we encounter is Charles Dickens and there is a reason why. The language, well-loved characters, Victorian ethics and of course a few Christmas books have ensured that Dickens is beloved by many.

But I would like to talk about one person I worked with and who has become one of my dearest friends. If I think of Dickens, I think of him. He treated himself to the complete novels of Charles Dickens, and read each one in turn. And loved every one of them. The Christmas Carol is probably my favourite book of all time. And so without further ado, below is a list of Charles Dickens' novels in order or publication.

Novels in Order of Publication

  • The Pickwick Papers (1836)
  • Oliver Twist (1837)
  • Nicholas Nickleby (1838)
  • The Old Curiosity Shop (1840)
  • Barnaby Rudge (1841)
  • Martin Chuzzlewit (1843)
  • Dombey and Son (1846)
  • David Copperfield (1849)
  • Bleak House (1852)
  • Hard Times (1854)
  • Little Dorritt (1855)
  • A Tale of Two Cities (1859)
  • Great Expectations (1860)
  • Our Mutual Friend (1864)
  • The Mystery of Edwin Drood (1870)

Notable Novellas

Don't panic I haven't forgotten my all time favourite book. It's classed as a novella. This is not a definitive list of all the novellas, but a partial selection.

  • A Christmas Carol (1843)
  • The Chimes (1844)
  • The Cricket on the Hearth (1845)
  • To Be Read at Dusk (1846)
  • The Haunted Man (1848)